top of page

What's for Dinner Tonight?: Crock Pot Baked Potato Soup

Sundays are crock pot days in my house. After working all week, including the grocery, house-cleaning, laundry and meal prep for the week on Saturday, Sunday is my day off. Ideally. In a perfect world. There's nothing easier than throwing a bunch of stuff in a crock pot and 4 to 8 hours later having a perfect meal emerge on the other side.

I use my crock pot year round, always looking for ideas and new meals to try in it. I've done Barbacoa, chicken, lasagna, meatloaf and soups. Ahh, soups. When the weather is cold and chilly I turn to my crock pot for stews, soups, all yumminess. Today the temperature here in the heartland is a brisk 14 degrees and soup is on the menu. I served it with baguette and all the leftover tailgate food from yesterday. A perfect, no-fuss Sunday meal!

Crock Pot Baked Potato Soup, courtesy of lilluna.com from Pinterest

Ingredients:

  • 10 red potatoes, cubed

  • 3 tablespoons flour

  • 1 cup real bacon bits

  • 1 teaspoon onion powder

  • 2 teaspoon garlic

  • 1 chicken bullion cube

  • 1 tablespoon ranch dressing mix

  • 2 teaspoon dried parsley

  • 1 teaspoon salt

  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper

  • 3 cups water

  • 1 cup half n half

  • 1 cup cheddar cheese

Directions:

  1. Add potatoes to crock pot. Sprinkle flour over the potatoes, then add the rest of the ingredients through to the water. Cook on HIGH for 4 hours.

  2. Add half n half and cheese and mix well. Cook an additional 15 minutes. Mix well.

  3. Serve warm.

Notes:

This was a fast recipe to throw together, which gets extra points in my book. I had it all in the crock pot in about 10 minutes. I used a 2 pound bag of red potatoes and there were about 12 to 14 in the bag. I used chicken stock instead of water. One thing to pay attention to, watch your broth or water - all of my stock evaporated or soaked into the potatoes and when I checked it at 4 hours, it was dry. Luckily I had more chicken stock so I was able to add it to the dish. In all I used a 32 ounce container of stock. We garnished ours with sour cream, more cheese and chives.

bottom of page