top of page

What's for Dinner Tonight? Throwback Edition: Pork Tenderloin Sandwiches


Tonight's dinner is another favorite of my family. My son called it the best meal in the world. Next to my meatloaf and Canteens. Which are both also my mom's recipes. Sensing a trend?

Growing up there was a little ice cream shop down the street from where we lived. It must have changed hands a dozen times, but it always had really good what I would consider small-town diner fast food. Pizzaburgers. Hamburgers. French fries. Onion rings. Fried cheese curds. And tenderloins.

My mom is a master of making a good tenderloin and we used to have them at home at least once a month growing up. She makes them for us when she comes back to visit, now I'm carrying the tenderloin torch for my family.

Start with 8 pork chops. Place each chop between two sheets of saran warp and pound with a meat mallet (not sure if this is the official name of it, but that's what I'm calling it) until they are about 1/4" thick.

This is a very important step because it makes the meat very tender. It's also very satisfying after a long, stressful day to be able to just pound the crap out of something. That and a nice glass of wine. Annnyway.

In a bowl whisk two eggs with 1/4 cup of milk and put in a round cake pan. In a separate cake pan/pie tin combine 1 cup of breadcrumbs, 1/2 cup flour, 1 tablespoon Italian Seasoning, 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese and salt and pepper, to taste.

Dredge each tenderloin in the egg mixture, then in the breadcrumbs.

In a large skillet heat 2 tablespoons of olive oil. Once hot add your pork tenderloins to the skillet cooking on each side for 3-5 minutes. If you don't move the meat while it's cooking you'll get a more even browning and crisping. Most likely you'll have to do this in batches, I keep them warm in my oven while I'm working.

Once they are done cooking, serve on hamburger buns with toppings (I prefer mustard, onion and dill pickle slices) and enjoy the goodness.

I served these with my salads from tody and slow cooker creamed corn.

Pork Tenderloin Sandwiches

Ingredients:

  • 8 pork chops

  • 2 eggs

  • 1/4 cup milk

  • 1 cup of breadcrumbs

  • 1/2 cup flour

  • 1 tablespoon Italian Seasoning

  • 1/4 cup Parmesan Cheese

  • Salt and pepper, to taste

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil

Directions:

  1. Place each pork loin chop between two sheets of saran wrap and pound with meat mallet until 1/4" thick.

  2. Whisk two eggs and 1/4 cup milk in a bowl, then pour into a pie tin.

  3. Combine breadcrumbs, flour, Italian seasoning, Parmesan and salt and pepper on a plate.

  4. Dredge each cutlet in the egg/milk mixture, then in the breadcrumb mixture.

  5. Heat two tablespoons olive oil in a large skillet. Place as many cutlets as you can in the skillet without crowding them and cook on each side for 3-5 minutes.

  6. Remove from skillet and serve.

bottom of page