top of page

What's for Breakfast? Spring Quiche


I have been on a quiche kick lately. Whether whole quiches or quiche cups I can't get enough of it. I eat them for breakfast, I eat them for lunch and my husband eats them just as much as I do! They're terribly easy to make and you can add an endless combination of ingredients into them to make them each unique.

Today was a perfect Sunday morning. I slept in late, I had the boy clean the kitchen and then I was ready to make quiche! In today's quiche I'm using flavors of spring.

I started with 6 eggs, 1/2 cup of milk and 1 tablespoon of Italian seasoning. You could use parsley or even tarragon or dill, but I always tend to grab for the Italian.

Next I chopped up 1 cup of my lovely, leftover Easter ham, 1 whole tomato, 3 asparagus stalks and 2 tablespoons of red onion, finely chopped.

I unrolled one refrigerated pie crust into a 9" pie plate and poured in my ingredients. Top with 1/2 cup of cheddar cheese. One thing that I always do on my whole quiches is cover the crust with foil. It keeps it from browning to a crisp while the quiche is cooking. Simply tear off about three strips of foil and wrap around the top edge of the pie crust. It doesn't have to fit perfectly, loosely is better.

Pop that on into the oven at 400 degrees for 30 minutes and let the magic happen.

I usually let my quiche sit for about 10 minutes when I pull it out of the oven, then cut into it and quiche heaven!

What do you like to put in your quiche? Let me know! Maybe I'll start a quiche hall of fame!

Spring Quiche

Ingredients:

  • 6 eggs

  • 1/2 cup of milk

  • 1 tablespoon Italian Seasoning

  • 1 cup diced ham

  • 3 stalks of asparagus, chopped

  • 1 whole tomato, diced

  • 2 tablespoons red onion, finely chopped

  • 1/2 cup cheddar cheese

  • 1 refrigerated pie crust

Directions:

  1. Heat oven to 400 degrees. Set out refrigerated pie crust to thaw.

  2. Whisk eggs and Italian seasoning in a large bowl.

  3. Dice ham, asparagus, tomato and red onion. Add to egg mixture.

  4. Pour into a 9" pie crust. Loosely wrap the top of the crust with foil to prevent over-browning.

  5. Place into oven and bake for 30 minutes or until center of quiche doesn't jiggle.

  6. Remove from oven and let stand 10 minutes. Cut and serve.

bottom of page