top of page

Saturday Salads: Caprese Salad

I love the following things. Tomatoes, mozzarella and basil. Also balsamic dressing. I've been making a version of this salad for years now after trying it at Panera. I used to just toss the tomatoes, mozzarella and basil with bottled Italian dressing. I still think my daughter prefers it that way. I like it better with the balsamic viniagrette on it because of the flavor that it adds to the salad.

Start with two pints of cherry tomatoes and cut them in half. I take a package of mozzarella balls, cut each ball in half and combine with the tomatoes. Add in fresh, chopped basil to taste. Gently toss these to mix.

In a small jar combine 4 tablespoons of balsamic vinegar, 4 teaspoons of dijon mustard and 7 tablespoons of olive oil. Shake vigorously to mix.

Pour the prepared dressing over the tomato mixture and toss to coat.

I will sometimes serve this over spinach for the salad experience, but it's good served as is.

Ingredients.

  • 2 pints cherry tomatoes

  • 1 package mozzarella balls

  • 1/4 cup chopped, fresh basil or to taste

  • 4 tablespoons balsamic vinegar

  • 4 teaspoons dijon mustard

  • 7 tablespoons olive oil

Directions:

  1. Cut cherry tomatoes in half. Cut mozzarella balls in half. Chop basil. Add into a mixing bowl.

  2. In a jar combine the balsamic vinegar, dijon and olive oil. Shake to mix.

  3. Pour the dressing over the tomato mixture and toss to coat.

bottom of page