top of page

Saturday Salads: Creamy Fruit Salad

I've said before, Saturdays are my salad-making days. This week I was craving fruit. There are so many good fruit salad recipes out there, but I opted for a (surprise) really simple one that used a combination of canned and fresh fruit with greek yogurt for the dressing.

And my family loved it! My son has helped himself to so much of it that it's nearly gone, but (hooray!) it's so simple that it won't take anything for me to whip up another batch!

Creamy Fruit Salad, from Pinterest, courtesy of Tastes Better From Scratch

Ingredients:

  • 1 (10-ounce) can pineapple chunks, drained

  • 1 (11-ounce) can mandarin oranges, drained

  • 1 medium apple, cored and chopped

  • 1 tsp lemon juice

  • 1 cup grapes, halved

  • 1/2 cup Plain Greek Yogut

  • 1/2 cup sweetened, shredded coconut

  • 1 cup mini marshmallows

Directions:

  1. Add apple to a large bowl and toss in lemon juice to keep from browning. Add the pineapple, mandarin oranges, grapes, coconut and marshmallows and toss to combine. Stir in Greek yogurt, gently tossing to coat.

  2. Refrigerate for at least 4 hours prior to serving to allow the flavors to meld together. Serve chilled.

Notes:

After a day or so of sitting in the fridge, liquid from the fruit may pool at the bottom, some of this can be poured off if desired.

bottom of page