top of page

What's for Dinner Tonight?: Tuna Melts and Garlic and Herb Roasted Brussels Sprouts

I found out this week that I'm anemic. Like really anemic, so I'm on a quest to eat more iron-rich foods.

There are actually a lot of foods that I eat that are iron-rich: peanut butter, spinach, beans, red meat, pork, chicken ... but apparently I don't eat enough of them.

One food that makes the list that I really don't eat that much of is seafood. I'm not a fish person. At. All. My husband and son loooove seafood, so I may make an effort to try to learn to like it, but really, is that possible? Maybe if I blacken the crap out of some salmon? Or smother something in hollandaise sauce? I really need to research this. If anyone has or knows of any really good recipes, let me know!

Tuna I can tolerate, so I made up a batch of tuna salad today and am serving tuna melts for dinner tonight with Garlic and Herb Roasted Brussels Sprouts. I like to dip my sandwiches and ketchup doesn't exactly lend itself to this so I whipped up some homemade Thousand Island dressing and added to the plate.

Tuna Melt, courtesy of me

Ingredients:

  • 2 12 oz. cans of tuna in water, drained

  • 2 hard-boiled eggs, chopped

  • 2 tablespoons diced onion

  • 2 tablespoons diced sweet pickles or pickle relish

  • 2 ribs of celery, diced

  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise

  • 1 tablespoon mustard, I used Dijon but yellow is fine

  • 1/4 teaspoon dill

  • Salt to taste

  • Pepper to taste

  • 1 slice of cheese of choice, I used provolone

  • 2 slices of bread, I used French bread that I had on hand

Directions:

  1. Combine ingredients through pepper in a medium mixing bowl and stir well. I usually start off with 1/2 cup of mayo and then add more to taste depending on how creamy I want it. Sometimes I kind of go overboard on the celery, pickles and onion so need more mayo to make it creamy. If you want your tuna salad more dry, I would start with 1/4 cup of mayo and go from there.

  2. Butter one side of two slices of bread. Add tuna and cheese in between the non-buttered sides to make a sandwich. Place the sandwich in a large skillet over medium heat.

  3. Grill until brown on both sides.

  4. Serve.

Homemade Thousand Island Dressing, courtesy of me:

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons mayonnaise

  • 1 tablespoon ketchup

  • 1 tablespoon chopped sweet pickle or pickle relish

Directions:

  1. Combine all in small bowl and mix well.

Garlic and Herb Roasted Brussels Sprouts, courtesy of Hidden Valley on Pinterest

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound Brussels sprouts

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil

  • 2 teaspoons Hidden Valley Farmhouse Originals Garlic & Herb Dressing & Seasoning Mix

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees

  2. Trim the ends off the Brussels sprouts and cut in half.

  3. In a large bowl, toss the sprouts with the herb mix and olive oil, coating evenly.

  4. Spread sprouts in a single layer on a baking sheet, cut side facing down.

  5. Bake for 12 minutes. Then flip sprouts and cook for an additional 8 minutes until browned and softened throughout.

bottom of page