top of page

Grab 'n Go Breakfast: No Bake Energy Bites

So while my pork butt is slow roasting in the oven, I'm getting the rest of my sides for the week ready.

In keeping with my grab and go theme, this week I'm adding a grab and go snack: No Bake Energy Bites. These little bites are packed full of yummy, good stuff and will be perfect for me and my daughter, who came home for the weekend (she couldn't bring herself to miss my Super Bowl tailgate!). We're making a double recipe so that she can take half of them home with her back to the U of A.

These were really easy to make, but, me being me, I misread the recipe (of course) and got whole flax seed instead of ground flax seed. I'll let you know in the notes how they turned out.

No Bake Energy Bites, courtesy of Gimme Some Oven on Pinterest:

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup (dry) oatmeal (I used old-fashioned oats)

  • 2/3 cup toasted coconut flakes

  • 1/2 cup peanut butter

  • 1/2 cup ground flax seed

  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips or cacao nibs (optional)

  • 1/3 cup honey or agave nectar

  • 1 tablespoon chia seeds (optional)

  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions:

  1. Stir all ingredients together in a medium bowl until thoroughly mixed. Cover and let chill in the refrigerator for half an hour.

  2. Once chilled, roll into balls of whatever size you would like. (Mine were about 1" in diameter.) Store in an airtight container and keep refrigerated for up to 1 week.

  3. Makes about 20-25 balls.

  4. To make the Chocolate Peanut Butter bites, leave out the chocolate chips and substitute 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder.

Notes:

These turned out good! So good that I'm making my daughter make her own batch to take back to school with her. I messed up, as I said, and bought whole flax seed instead of ground. On the regular batch, I added about 1/4 cup and it did just fine. On the chocolate batch I added in a 1/2 cup. It's really crunchy, but also tastes fine.

bottom of page