top of page

What's for Dinner Tonight: Bubble Up Pizza


It's a beautiful day here in the Kansas City metro area, temperatures are expected to be in the mid-70s - unheard of for February! It's sooooo nice, that I put the top down on my convertible on the way home. A tad bit windy, but how often can you say that you were in the Midwest, in February and went top down?

Ok, so what's for dinner tonight? Something easy, of course! I found this recipe on Pinterest, but it originated on the Pillsbury website. I'm taking a mash-up of two recipes from there, their Pizza Bubbles and their Pepperoni Pizza Slow-Cooker Bubble-Up Bake and trying to combine them into one recipe that I can do in the oven. Because, what's the worst that could happen with that, right?

I've been hungry for pizza and wanted to try this in the slow cooker, but with my work schedule I just can't make it home to get it started when I need to, especially because it only cooks for 1 1/2 hours on high. And this doesn't seem like a recipe that you want to let go longer in the slow cooker. Their oven recipe was only for a snack-size pan, but I wanted to do it as a main dish, with toppings, so went with a combo.

What I came up with is the below recipe and I served it with a chopped spinach salad.

Bubble-Up Pepperoni Pizza Bake, courtesy of me and Pillsbury

Ingredients:

  • 1 can (16.3 ounces) Pillsbury Grands! Homestyle refrigerated biscuits

  • 1 cup sliced pepperoni

  • 1 cup sliced mushrooms

  • 1 cup diced onion

  • 2 teaspoons Italian seasoning

  • 1 (14 ounce) jar of sauce

  • 2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese (8 ounces)

Directions:

  1. Spray a 9x13 baking dish with cooking spray.

  2. Separate 1 can of biscuits into 8 biscuits. Cut each into 6 pieces; place in large bowl.

  3. Cut 1 cup pepperoni slices into quarters. Place half of the quarters in bowl with biscuit pieces. Add in 1/2 cup of mushrooms and 1/2 cup of onions. Add 1 cup of pizza sauce and 2 teaspoons Italian seasoning to bowl with cut biscuits, pepperoni quarters and vegetables; toss to mix.

  4. Place biscuit mixture as evenly as possible in baking dish. Spread remaining pizza sauce evenly over top of biscuits.

  5. Sprinkle 2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese and remaining half of pepperoni and vegetables over top.

  6. Bake 25 to 30 minutes or until light golden brown and center biscuits are no longer doughy.

Notes:

I used a pizza cutter to cut the biscuits into 6 pieces, which worked really well. If you have OCD (daughter) this recipe IS NOT for you - it's a mess when it bakes and is all lumpy everywhere, not nice and flat like a normal pizza (hence, the bubble-up), but it is delicious. I left cheese off half of the pan for the boy who doesn't like cheese, I'll add more to it when I microwave leftovers if he doesn't finish them. I ended up cooking this for 30 minutes and it was still a little doughy. The boy liked it that way, my husband could have gone with it in another 10 minutes, but I was starved so we ate. I think next time I'll try to get the boy to make it in the slow cooker and see how that one does, it's great in theory and the recipe is simple enough that he really couldn't mess it up. Well, ok, he could mess it up by not following the directions or not turning the crock pot on and the likelihood of that happening is pretty high, but I'll take my chances.

bottom of page