top of page

Saturday Salads: Wild Rice and Cranberry Salad


I really got into a groove today and ended up making three salads total. The fruit salad that I've done before (you can find it in my salad category), a Mediterranean Chick Pea Salad and this Wild Rice and Cranberry Salad.

I had wild rice left over that I needed to use and I found this on Pinterest. What caught my eye was the pairing with cranberries and the orange juice dressing that goes over it. I love fruit in my salads and this turned out really good!

It was very easy to make and it really didn't seem like there was much to do to throw it together. Or maybe it was just me and my whole groove thing.

Either way, here's the deets:

Wild Rice and Cranberry Salad, courtesy of RecipeGirl on Pinterest:

Ingredients:

  • 3 1/4 cups water

  • 1/4 cup chicken broth

  • 1 1/4 cups wild rice

  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries or Craisins

  • 1/2 cup golden raisins

  • 1/2 cup green onions, chopped (optional)

  • 1/3 cup pine nuts, toasted

  • 1/4 cup fresh parsley, chopped

  • 1 tablespoon grated orange zest

  • 1/4 cup freshly squeezed orange juice

  • 2 tablespoons cider vinegar

  • 1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil

  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Bring water and broth to a boil in a large saucepan. Add rice and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium and simmer until tender but still slightly firm to bite, stirring occasionally, about 40 minutes. Drain rice and transfer to a large bowl and cool.

  2. Mix cranberries, raisins, onions, pine nuts, parsley and orange peel into rice. Whisk orange juice and vinegar together. Gradually whisk in oil. Add enough dressing to rice salad to coat. Season with salt and pepper. Cover and refrigerate. Let marinate for several hours. Bring to room temperature before serving.

Notes:

I used a wild rice blend instead of straight wild rice so it didn't take as long for my rice to cook. Follow the directions on your package. I also didn't use raisins because I don't like them and didn't feel like picking around them when I eat. No other reason than that.

bottom of page