top of page

What's for Dinner Tonight?: Orzo and Mushroom Casserole

I cook orzo a lot. I just realized that tonight when my husband asked if we were having orzo again. I can't help it, I love it. I've said it before, but it's like risotto (which I also love) without the hours of cooking that goes into risotto. It's creamy and it's yummy and makes a great side dish for so many reasons!

Tonight I made an Orzo & Mushroom Casserole that I first made for Christmas dinner. It's easy to throw together and was a perfect match with the Skinny Lemon Tilapia that we had for our main dish.

Orzo & Mushroom Casserole, courtesy of withablast on Pinterest:

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons butter

  • 1 teaspoon fresh garlic, crushed

  • 1 1/2 cups orzo

  • 1 packet dry brown onion soup powder

  • 3 1/4 cups boiling water

  • 1 package of sliced mushrooms

  • 1/4 cup fresh parsley, chopped

Directions:

  1. Heat the butter over medium heat in a large saucepan with a lid - saute the garlic until golden

  2. Add the orzo, soup and boiling water - cover and lower heat - simmer 10 minutes

  3. Add the mushrooms, cover and simmer a further 10 miutes

  4. Remove from heat - stir in the parsley and let stand, uncovered, until most of the liquid is absorbed.

bottom of page