top of page

Saturday Salads: Easy Potato Salad

I have been in the kitchen all day cooking, which is what Saturdays are made for as far as I'm concerned, and I'm soooo excited for dinner tonight. I've had a ham in the crockpot all day, my husband made cornbread and I've been busy with potato salad and coleslaw and some more of the delicious fruit salad that I made last weekend. The only thing missing is my daughter, this is one of her favorite meals, too.

You know me, these salads will be side dishes all through the week and will give me something relatively healthy to take to work with me for lunch.

I've tried several different potato salad recipes, including dill potato salad, but I kind of made one up today that I'm trying out on the fam. I think it tastes pretty good, we'll see what my taste testers think.

Easy Potato Salad, courtesy of me

Ingredients:

  • 3 pounds red potatoes, diced

  • 5 hard-boiled eggs, chopped

  • 3 ribs of celery, chopped

  • 4 green onions, chopped

  • Chives for garnish

  • 1 1/2 cups mayonnaise

  • 1 1/2 cups sour cream

  • 1 1/2 tbsp yellow mustard

  • Salt

  • Pepper

Directions:

  1. Boil potatoes. The best way I've found is to do this: Place potatoes and enough water to cover them in a large pan. Cover and bring to a boil. Remove from heat and let sit covered for 30 minutes - don't peek! After 30 minutes check firmness by sticking a fork into a potato. It should go in easily. If it doesn't cover the pan and let sit for another 5 minutes, checking every 5 minutes after that until potatoes are done.

  2. Meanwhile, hard-boil eggs.

  3. Let potatoes and eggs cool completely. I always fudge on this a little bit because I'm really impatient and get tired of waiting for them. Today I let them sit for about an hour before I started working with them.

  4. Cut potatoes into bite-size pieces.

  5. Combine potatoes, eggs, celery, onions, salt and pepper to taste in a large mixing bowl.

  6. In a small bowl combine the mayonnaise, sour cream and mustard, mix well.

  7. Add the mayo mixture to the potato mixture, gently folding it in.

  8. Garnish with chives and chill until ready to serve.

Notes:

I leave the skins on my potatoes because I hate peeling potatoes. It's up to you if you do that or not. The mayo mix makes a lot, if you don't like your potato salad really creamy, add it in a little at a time until it's the consistency you want. For something different you could use Dijon mustard, I ran out so used yellow, but I prefer the taste of Dijon, sometimes I'll mix them half and half. The flavors are really a lot better the second day.

bottom of page