top of page

What's in My Kitchen


It took me a really long time to learn, but if you have certain ingredients on hand, you can whip together a meal, from scratch, with very little forethought and planning, that is easy and that your family will love.

My husband does it all the time - he's king of foraging through my pantry and fridge and just throwing a bunch of stuff in a pan. And guess what? It's fabulous.

So, just to share, here's a list of items that I always have on hand. I left off some things that I buy weekly but included others, but I always have staples like milk, eggs and bread on hand, that's a given.

Pantry:

  • Pasta - spaghetti or fettuccini, elbow macaroni and orzo

  • A jar of really good pasta sauce - for the night when I just don't have it in me to make it from scratch

  • Beans, beans and beans - All kinds, cannellini, black, pinto, kidney, garbanzo and northern, usually one can of each

  • Tomatoes - diced, crushed, whole, sauce and paste

  • Really good canned tomatoes - the Italian kind, crushed

  • Soups - cream of mushroom, cream of celery, cream of chicken and tomato

  • Stock - a 32 oz box of beef and chicken

  • Tuna

  • Bread crumbs

  • Cornflakes

  • Tortilla Chips

  • Instant mashed potatoes

  • White or brown rice and arborrio

  • Boxed brownie or cake mix and frosting

  • Chocolate Chips

  • Peanut butter

  • Flour - King Arthur is the brand I swear by

  • Sugar

  • Vinegar - white, apple cider, red wine, white wine and rice wine - I use them a lot in the salads that I make so I've got quite the collection going

  • Oil - olive and canola

  • Canned fruit - pineapple, pears, peaches and mandarin oranges

Produce:

  • Lemons

  • Limes

  • Tomatoes - vine-ripened

  • Garlic

  • Potatoes

  • Onions

  • Carrots - whole and baby

  • Celery

  • Peppers - green and red

  • A bag of chopped vegetables - something that could be steamed for a quick side

  • Spinach

  • Basil

  • Cilantro or Parsley

  • Mushrooms

Refrigerator:

  • Heavy Cream - I just added this to my list recently, my husband uses it in coffee so it doesn't go to waste

  • Minced garlic

  • Cheese - shredded mozzarella, shredded cheddar, parmesan and a block of something like gouda or Havarti

  • Cream cheese

  • Greek Yogurt

  • Sour Cream

  • Butter - sticks and spreadable

  • Mustard - Dijon and yellow

  • Soy sauce

  • Hot sauce

  • Mayonnaise

Freezer - I really try to watch the sales and stock up when I have the chance:

  • At least 2 pounds of ground beef

  • Pork - tenderloin and chops - I usually like to have a shoulder, also

  • Chicken - thighs, a whole chicken and boneless, skinless breasts

  • Sister Schubert dinner rolls

  • Pizza - at least two different kinds

  • Vegetables - at least one or two bags, usually more like four, corn, peas, mixed and carrots

Spices:

  • Basil

  • Oregano

  • Cumin

  • Minced Onion

  • Onion Powder

  • Garlic Powder

  • Salt - Kosher and Sea Salt

  • Peppercorns

  • Dill

  • Rosemary

  • Vanilla

So if you're just starting out, or just need something to compare to, there you go.

What's in your kitchen?


bottom of page