top of page

Desserts 101: Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake


Cooking Kansas City - Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

In working with my blog this week, I realized that I really don't make any desserts. Which is crazy because I love dessert, but my daughter is the baker when she's home so I've kind of gotten out of the habit.

Well watch out, because my sweet tooth is making a comeback starting this week. I'm making two desserts this week, one with chocolate, because, chocolate?

The other recipe I found in a wonderful magazine that I picked up at the bookstore last week The Complete Brunch Cookbook put out by the folks at Taste of Home. The magazine is full of great, and easy, brunch recipes that I'm using for any meal. This week I'm making their Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake and plan to eat it any time of day - it looks that good!

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake, courtesy of Susan Walschlager via Taste of Home

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup butter, softened

  • 1 1/2 cups sugar

  • 4 large eggs

  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour

  • 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder

  • 3/4 tsp. baking soda

  • 1/4 tsp. salt

  • 1 cup (8 oz.) sour cream

Filling:

  • 1/4 cup packed brown sugar

  • 1 Tbsp. all-purpose flour

  • 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon

  • 2 cups fresh or frozen blueberries

Glaze:

  • 1 cup confectioners' sugar

  • 2 to 3 Tbsp. 2% milk

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350F. In a large bowl, cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Beat in vanilla. Combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt; add to creamed mixture alternately with sour cream., beating well after each addition.

  2. Spoon a third of the batter into a greased and floured 10-in. tube pan. Combine brown sugar, flour and cinnamon; sprinkle half over batter. Top with half of the berries. Repeat layers. Top with remaining batter.

  3. Bake 55-65 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean. Cool 10 minutes before removing from pan to a wire rack to cool completely. Combine glaze ingredients; drizzle over warm coffee cake.

Note:

If using frozen blueberries, use without thawing to avoid discoloring the batter.

bottom of page