top of page

Saturday Salads: Black Bean Couscous Salad


Cooking Kansas City - Black Bean Couscous Salad

Sticking with my Mexican theme today I'm throwing in one more salad, because seriously? These are the easiest salads ever to make.

I have boxes of couscous sitting in my pantry that I've decided to use as the base for this salad. Add in some vegetables and toss it with a lime viniagrette and I should be good to go.

I've had something similar to this before, but I'm kind of throwing this one together off the cuff, so we'll see how it goes.

Black Bean Couscous Salad:

Ingredients:

  • 1 Box of Couscous Mix

  • 1 can of Black Beans, drained and rinsed

  • 1 Red Pepper, diced

  • 2 cups Frozen Corn, thawed and drained

  • 1 Jalapeno, diced (remove the seeds and membranes if you don't want it too spicy)

  • 1/2 cup Cilantro, chopped

  • 1 pint Cherry Tomatoes, halved

For the Lime Viniagrette Dressing:

Ingredients:

  • 2/3 cup Olive Oil

  • 2/3 cup Lime Juice

  • 2 cloves garlic, minced

  • 1 cup Cilantro, loosely packed

  • Salt

  • Pepper

Directions:

  1. Cook the couscous according to the directions on the box. I used chicken stock instead of water.

  2. Add rest of ingredients to a bowl and toss with cumin and chili powder.

  3. Mix the viniagrette ingredients in a food processor and puree.

  4. Add couscous and viniagrette to bowl and toss gently to mix.

Notes:

This is soooo good! I'm so excited how it turned out. I increased the amount of viniagrette that I made and may need to add more mid-week, the couscous seems to soak it up alot. It's going to go great with the fish!

bottom of page