top of page

Saturday Salads: Chipotle Lime Cilantro Coleslaw


Cooking Kansas City - Chipotle Lime Cilantro Coleslaw

Happy Saturday! It's that time again and I couldn't be more excited to get into the kitchen this week!

Mexican is one of my favorite food groups, both to cook and eat. I love the flavors that go into it and it's like comfort food for me. We used to go out for Mexican at a local restaurant on Fridays, but since I've started cooking so much we don't do it that often anymore, so this week I decided to take the Mexican flavors to my menu this week.

This salad is a super-easy variation regular coleslaw and will go great with the fish I'm going to prepare tomorrow night.

Chipotle Lime Cilantro Slaw, courtesy of centsationalgirl.com

Ingredients:

  • Handful of Cilantro

  • Juice of 1 Lime

  • 1 Chipotle Pepper

  • 1/2 tsp Adobo Sauce

  • 1/2 cup of Yogurt

  • 1/4 cup Mayo

  • 1 tbsp White Wine Vinegar

  • Bag of Coleslaw mix

Directions:

  1. Remove seeds from 1 chipotle pepepr and dice

  2. Add diced pepper and a healthy handful of cilantro and adobo sauce into a small mixer until finely chopped.

  3. Add yogurt, mayo, vinegar, small pinch of salt and squeeze of 1 lime.

  4. Taste. If you like it spicier add another 1/2 teaspoon of adobo sauce.

  5. Toss with slaw mix.

  6. Chill to let flavors mingle and serve.

Notes:

Chilling this seems to be necessary to the salad. After I made it I tried it, it was ok, but after chilling it the flavors really came together to taste good, It's going to go great with the fish I'm making tomorrow!

bottom of page