top of page

10 Things You'll Always Find in My Pantry


There are some things that I just can't live without. And some things that I always have on hand in case my husband wants to create something fantastic for dinner.

Here's my 10 Pantry Essentials:

  1. Chopped Tomatoes - Whether I need them for a quick pasta sauce or to put in soup I always have several cans, and flavors of these in my pantry. One of my favorite things to do is toss them with white rice, chickpeas and hot sauce for what I call "poor man's jambalya."

  2. Chicken Stock - A basic and one that can be used in several different recipes. I cook my rice and couscous in it for extra flavor.

  3. Beans - Throw a can of beans in the chicken stock and you have soup. I put them on salads for extra protein.

  4. Pasta - A staple in my pantry. I usually have four or five bags, from angel hair (the boy's favorite) to elbow (for a quick mac and cheese) and several in-between.

  5. Cream of Mushroom Soup - Eat it straight out of the can or use it in a casserole, I've always got this on hand. Green Bean Casserole is a personal favorite.

  6. Olive Oil - Um, like the air that I breathe? Absolutely necessary.

  7. Balsamic Vinegar - Use it to marinate meat or as a salad dressing. I'm kind of obsessed with it right now.

  8. Bisquick - I like to do breakfast for dinner a lot and this is a quick way to make pancakes or waffles. You can also make some pretty amazing dinner dishes with it, too.

  9. Chocolate Chips - Ok, I'll admit it. Sometimes I'll take a spoon of peanut butter and top it with chocolate chips. Homemade Reese's Peanut Butter cups, anyone?

  10. White Rice - I've got to have it and feel lost without it. I make it as a side dish, but will also cook it and throw some Parmesean cheese on it for a main dish just for me.

What are your can't live without staples in your pantry?

bottom of page