top of page

Lemon Blueberry Quickbread


This weekend was my weekend for baking. I usually leave that for my daughter, but I'm not sure when I'll see her again, so I decided to take it on myself. And what do you know? I like baking. It takes a long time to finish it (I'll never enjoy waiting for cookies to bake), but it's soooo worth it in the end.

Today, I'm making Lemon Blueberry Quickbread. I love lemons and I love blueberries, luckily I happen to have both on hand today, just screaming to be combined into a lovely recipe!

Lemon Blueberry Quickbread - courtesy of examiner.com

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup butter melted

  • 1 cup sugar

  • 3 tablespoons lemon juice

  • 2 eggs

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

  • 1 teaspoon baking powder

  • 1 teaspoon salt

  • 1/2 cup milk

  • 2 tablespoons grated lemon zest

  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts (optional)

  • 1 cup fresh or frozen blueberries

Glaze:

  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice

  • 1/4 cup sugar

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees

  2. Prepare a loaf pan (ideally 8x4, but I think mine was sized differently), butter and flour all sides (I used a baking spray to spray the pan, then the flour)

  3. In a large mixing bowl, beat together butter, sugar, lemon juice and eggs. Combine flour, baking powder and salt; stir into egg mixture alternating dry mixture and milk. Fold in lemon zest, nuts if you choose to add the, and blueberries. Pour batter into prepared pan.

  4. Bake in an oven for 60 to 70 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the loaf comes out clean. Cool bread in pan for 10 minutes.

  5. Combine lemon juice and sugar in a small bowl. Remove bread from pan and drizzle with glaze. Cool on a wire rack until the glaze looks milky and slightly crusted.

Notes:

I followed the recipe and my glaze never looked milky. Maybe use powdered sugar next time? Really good anyway!


bottom of page