top of page

The Best Damn Cookies Ever


Ok, so I took a little liberties with the title of this post, but I DID NOT LIE. No matter how many cookies I've baked, these are the best damned cookies I've ever had. I don't know what it is about them, but they're great. I've passed this recipe on to countless number of people and they all say the same thing. THEY'RE THE BEST DAMN COOKIES EVER.

This recipe came to me from my boss's wife at me last job (co-owner of the company) and I've been using it ever since. This weekend I was craving chocolate chip cookies. Not just any chocolate cookies, but the best damn chocolate cookies ever. I went to this recipe. And then, because I had a couple of glasses of wine up to this point, I decided to double the pleasure and split the recipe. So not only do I have chocolate chip cookies, I have white chocolate-cranberry-macadameia nut cookies. Rock on!

To start, mix one stick of butter, 1/2 cup canola oil, 1 cup sugar, 1 cup brown sugar, 2 teaspoons vanilla, 1 teaspoon of salt, 1 teaspoon baking soda and 2 eggs in a large mixing bowl. It's better if the butter is softened to room temperature, but sometimes I can't wait and just throw it all in. I mix it for a really long time to try and get all the lumps out, but, whatever.

After that mix in 3 cups flour, mixing after each cup is added

After that I split the mix into two bowls. In one I added 1/2 bag chocolate chips. In the other I added 1/3 cup white chocolate chips, 1/3 cup dried cranberries and 1/3 cup chopped macademia nuts. I could only fine whole macademia nuts, so I pulsed them in my food processor a couple of times to chop them up. It worked.

I used a 1/2 teaspoon scoop to make balls on a baking sheet. Cook for 8 to 10 minutes. DO NOT over bake them. You will be sorry. Even though they don't look done when you take them out of the oven, cool them on the baking sheet for a couple of minutes, then cool on a wire rack until cool. They hold their shape great!

Again, these are the best cookies ever. I have almost 10 people who will agree.

Ingredients:

  • 1 stick butter

  • 1/2 cup canola oil

  • 1 cup sugar

  • 1 cup brown sugar

  • 2 teaspoons vanilla

  • 1 teaspoon salt

  • 1 teaspoon baking soda

  • 2 eggs

  • 3 cups flour

  • 1 bag of chocolate chips (if doing only chocolate chip cookies. If you decide to do a couple, divide dough and add-ins accordingly)

Directions:

  1. Mix butter, canola oil, sugar, brown sugar, vanilla, salt, baking soda and eggs with a mixer.

  2. Add in 3 cups of flour, mixing after each cup.

  3. Drop into balls onto baking sheet (I used a 1/2 teaspoon scoop)

  4. Bake at 350 degrees for 8 to 10 minutes, until just browning around edges.

  5. Cool on baking sheet for 2 minutes, before transferring to wire rack to finish cooling.

bottom of page