top of page

What's for Dinner?: Honey Lime Ginger Pork

I'm calling this pork with an identity crisis. Is it Asian pork? Is it Mexican pork? All I know is that it is delicious pork!

This is one of the easiest recipes that I've found. I left it cooking today while I worked my part-time job and the kitchen smelled great when I got home.

I started with a small pork tenderloin, about 1 1/2 pounds. First I seared it over a high heat for just a few minutes on each side until browned, almost black. I'm a fan of searing it, because it really does keep the meat juicy.

Then, toss it into the crock pot over low heat. Top it with 1/2 cup of honey, 1/4 cup soy sauce, 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce, the juice of one lime, 2 garlic cloves, minced and 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger.

Cook everything over low heat for 6-8 hours or until temperature reaches 160 degrees F. I used a much smaller cut of meat, so when it reached 160 degrees, my husband took it out and covered it and put it in the microwave until I got home.

I took the remaining juices and added 2 tablespoons of cornstarch. It thickened up quite a bit, more than I wanted, so I thinned it with the juice of 1 lime and some white wine that I happened to be drinking at the time. It was perfect!

I served this with brown rice with parmesan cheese and lemon garlic steamed broccoli. Yum!

Ingredients:

  • 2.5 pounds pork loin

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil

  • Salt and pepper

Honey Lime Ginger Sauce:

  • 1/2 cup honey

  • 1/4 cup soy sauce

  • 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce

  • Juice of one lime

  • 2 garlic cloves, minced

  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger or 1 tablespoon fresh ginger

  • 2 tablespoons ginger

  • Optional garnish, Fresh lime wedges, chopped cilantro

Directions:

  1. In a large skillet heat theoil over medium high heat. Salt and pepper the pork and lay in the hot oil. Let the pork sear until the outside edge starts to blacken. Place the pork into the bottom of a slow cooker.

  2. In a small bowl whisk together the honey, soy sauce, worcestershire sauce, juice of one lime, garlic cloes, and ginger. Pour the marinade over the pork. Let cook 6 to 8 hours on low and 4 to 6 hours on high or until thermometer reads 160 degrees.

  3. Once the pork is finished lay onto aplatter and pour the juices in a medium saucepan. Cook the marinade over medium high heat and whisk in the cornstarch. Cook for a few minutes until it starts to thicken. Pour over the pork. Garnish with optional lime wedges and fresh chopped cilantro.

bottom of page