top of page

When's the Party?


This week, we are halfway to a party and we will look at question number 3.

As a reminder, the six essential questions to ask yourself:

  1. What is the occasion?

  2. Who is hosting?

  3. What is the time and date of the event?

  4. Where is the event taking place?

  5. Who is on the guest list?

  6. What is the budget?

Time and date are important to establish so that you can actually begin planning the party - these two items will both help you determine much of the feel of the party.

Time:

This will actually help you set your menu. If your party is at 2:00PM, then light appetizers will probably suffice. If it's around 6:00PM, your guests will probably expect dinner to be served.

A good rule of thumb to follow is this: if the start time of your event does not allow guests to reasonably eat a meal before or after, you are responsible for feeding them.

Date:

Is it a last minute get-together or something on down the road? With certain events, like a bridal or baby shower, an end date is obvious. With others, you have the luxury of picking and choosing when you host - which, in addition to the time of the party, also affects the menu as far as available food items. A Christmas get-together will look and feel much different from a Memorial Day party.

For my barbecue, I know that I need to have it in July when the college girls will all be able to get back and I know that there is one particular weekend my daughter has in mind. I think we're going to plan it for around 5:00PM, so I'll be providing dinner for everyone invited.

That's great for me because it gives me lots of time to plan and finalize everything. Don't procrastinate. The date will be upon you quicker than you think.

Having it so far out also gives me time to plan the menu.

About four weeks out I'll start using my pre-party calendar to get things in line. One good tip is to work backward from the date of the party and fill it in that way. You know you'll want to clean the house the day before the party. Slot it in. Ordering or buying the food? Plan it.

I use calendar print-outs from the internet for planning and usually post it on my refrigerator so that everyone has it in sight and knows what's coming and when.


bottom of page