top of page

Smoky Adobo Frijole Dip

So I ended up staying an extra night in Fayetteville last night. I just love that town and have the best time when I go! One reason I'm gad that I stayed was because we went out and had Mexican at Tacos for Life. If you don't know what Tacos for Life is, check out my Facebook page, I posted there about it earlier!

When I got home today I found out that my husband cooked last night! He got the munchies after hearing about our Mexican dinner so he rooted through the pantry (which he is the king of doing) and whipped up some bean dip. I tried it today and it is wonderful! Just a few ingredients are all that go into it, if you eat Mexican as much as we do, you probably already have them on hand.

Smoky Adobo Frijole Dip

Ingredients:

  • 1 can pinto beans, drained

  • 1 can black beans, drained

  • 1 yellow pepper, diced

  • 4 scallions, chopped

  • 5-6 chipotles in Adobo sauce, roughly chopped

  • Juice of 1 lime

Directions:

  1. Heat olive oil in a large skillet. Add in yellow pepper and scallions, cook until soft, approximately 5 minutes.

  2. Add chipotles and both cans of beans, cook until beans are soft, about 5-10 minutes.

  3. Mash beans with a potato masher in the pan.

  4. Squeeze juice of one lime over bean dip and stir to mix well.

  5. Serve with tortilla chips and creama Mexicana agria.

Notes:

Any type pepper could be used, red, yellow or green, we had yellow on hand. If you want your dip to look really pretty, use a mix of red and yellow. Add the chipotles depending on how spicy you want it. Ours had a kick to it, not in a bad way. If you want to take the time, remove the seeds from the chipotles, but I haven't figured out a good way to do that yet, if anyone has any tips, I'd love to hear them! We like a lot of lime, so used a whole lime, but add to taste if you don't. Creama Mexicana agria is Mexican sour cream. I highly recommend using this in any recipe that calls for sour cream, but it is a little runnier than regular sour cream. But the taste is sooo good, creamy, almost buttery, we end up using it a lot.

bottom of page