top of page

On the Menu: Easy Homemade Guacamole

Avocados are one of my favorite foods and guacamole is one of my favorite things to do with them.

When I first started making guacamole I was really careful to follow a recipe strictly. Now that I've been making it for so long I just kind of start throwing things in a bowl and hope for the best, which usually works for me.

I don't vary the ingredients too much, but sometimes if I don't have tomatoes on hand, I'll leave them out. If I think about it, which I didn't today, I'll throw in garlic. But three things are always a constant: avocados, cilantro and lime.

One thing that's really important to me is that my avacados aren't over-ripe. They suck. I usually buy them when they are a nice dark green, but not that blackish-greenish color, and firm to the touch. Then I use them in the next day or two. Cut them open and they are that nice bright green and taste so buttery.

I like my guacamole kind of chunky so I don't mash the avocados, just chop them into small pieces, but whatever floats your boat, it all ends up tasting good!

Easy Homemade Guacamole, courtesy of me:

Ingredients:

  • 3 ripe, medium avacados, diced into small pieces

  • 1/4 cup diced onion

  • 2 small tomatoes, diced

  • 1/4 cup cilantro

  • Juice of 1 lime

  • Salt, to taste

Directions:

  1. Add all ingredients in a small mixing bowl and stir until combined.

  2. Chill for at least an hour for flavors to blend

bottom of page