top of page

Homemade Garlic Spread

I'm addicted to bread. Especially good Italian bread, French bread or baguette with some spread on it - to die for!

I found this recipe this evening while I was making my cornflake chicken. I was going to just do some dinner rolls with it, but then saw that beautiful baguette sitting on my counter and I knew that it was lonely for some spread. Et voila!

The best thing about this recipe? I have all the ingredients on hand. Per.Fect. I don't use my food processor that often, I usually just cut stuff up by hand, but this recipe opened my eyes to all the wonderful possibilities that lie ahead of me now that I've rediscovered it.

Homemade Garlic Spread, courtesy of bsugarmama.com on Pinterest

Ingredients:

  • 2 sticks unsalted butter, softened

  • 5 garlic cloves

  • 1/2 c. parmesan cheese, grated

  • 2 tbsp. fresh oregano (or 2 tsp. dried)

  • 1 tbsp. basil

  • 1 tsp. salt

  • 1 tsp. pepper

  • Italian or French Bread for spreading

Directions:

  1. In a food processor, pulse to mince the garlic, oregano and basil.

  2. Add the butter, cheese, salt and pepper and blend until smoothed together.

  3. Spread on desired bread and place in a preheated oven on 350 degrees for 12 minutes and enjoy.

  4. Store in the refrigerator.

Notes:

Ok, ready for the epic fail? Don't use a plastic spatula to scrape down the sides of the food processor while it's processing. Yup, I did that. Little green pieces of plastic all throughout my lovely spread. And it tastes lovely. I've dug through it for the last half hour and think I've gotten all of the plastic out, but I'm not sure. It's sitting in the fridge now taunting me. Oh well. You live. You learn. You have another glass of wine.

bottom of page