top of page

On the Tailgate Menu: The Masters Pimento Cheese

I've been lucky enough to actually attend the Masters practice rounds and eaten one of these sandwiches. It's kind of a requirement for attending, you know, something you just have to do. We tried the Pimento Dip that was prepackaged at the store, other than the wierd color, it was ok. This homemade version is so much better and easy!

The Masters Pimento Cheese from Pinterest, courtesy of plainchicken.com

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup cream cheese, room temperature

  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise

  • 1/2 cup sour cream

  • 1/4 tsp garlic salt

  • 2 cups shredded sharp cheddar cheese

  • 1/2 cup shredded Parmesan cheese

  • 1/2 cup diced pimentos

Directions:

  1. Whip cream cheese until smooth.

  2. Add in mayonnaise, sour cream and garlic salt

  3. Whip until smooth.

  4. Stir in remaining ingredients.

  5. Refrigerate 30 minutes, or until ready to serve.

Notes:

I used cream cheese that was in a tub instead of a block, so I didn't have to soften it. I didn't notice anything wrong with the consistency or texture of the finished dish like you might think, so I may start doing this all the time - I hate waiting for stuff to soften and am bad at trying to do it in the microwave. I also used mayo with olive oil. I didn't completely read the recipe while I was making this, so didn't whip the soft ingredients at all. I was a little lumpy, not bad, but by the time you mix the cheese and pimentos in, you never notice. I served this with wheat crackers, but my husband had his on a piece of French bread and said it was excellent. Go me!

bottom of page