top of page

Grab 'n Go Breakfast: Make-Ahead Gluten Free Breakfast Muffins

This was my wild-card today. I'm always looking for easy breakfast ideas for my family. We love to sleep in and so are really bad about sitting down the morning to eat before we leave. Last week I made my peanut butter-banana tortilla wraps, this week to add to the mix I found this recipe for grab and go breakfast muffins.

It's my wild-card because I kind of didn't follow the recipe. But, SUCCESS!! My husband tried one and said that they are delicious. Ya-hoo!!!!

Please note, in the recipe that follows, the ingredient 1 recipe homemade gluten free "Bisquick" Pancake Mix is actually a recipe, not the boxed Bisquick mix. I missed that part.

Make-Ahead Gluten Free Breakfast Muffins with Bacon and Egg from glutenfreeonashoestring.com, on Pinterest:

Ingredients:

  • 4 ounces bacon, chopped

  • 8 eggs at room temperature

  • 1 recipe homemade gluten free "Bisquick" Pancake Mix

  • 6 ounces sharp yellow cheddar cheese, grated (or another semi-hard cheese)

  • 1/2 cup chopped scallions (white and green parts)

  • 1 cup buttermilk, at room temperature

  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter, at room temperature

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Grease 6 wells of a Texas-sized muffin tin and set aside.

  2. In a medium-size heavy-bottom skilled, cook the chopped bacon over medium-high heat, stirring occasionally, until crisp. Drain the rendered bacon fat and set the cooked bacon aside.

  3. Place 2 of the eggs in a small bowl, and beat well.

  4. In a large bowl, place the pancake mix and add 4 of the 6 ounces of grated cheese, the chopped scallions and the cooked bacon and mix to combine.

  5. Create a well in the center of the dry ingredients and add the buttermilk, butter and the 2 beaten eggs, mixing until just combined after each addition.

  6. Place about 1/4 cup of the batter in the center of each prepared well of the muffin tin and create a well in the center of the batter to hold an egg.

  7. Crack one of the remaining 6 eggs in each well.

  8. Divide the remaining batter among the wells and spread gently to cover the egg with batter.

  9. Sprinkle the remaining grated cheese evenly over the tops of each muffin and press gently to help it adhere.

  10. Place tin in the center of the preheated oven and bake until the muffins are golden brown all over and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out with no more than a few moist crumbs attached (about 35 minutes).

  11. Remove from the oven and allow to cool in the pan for 5 minutes before removing from the wells and serving warm.

  12. To make ahead, cool completely and store in the refrigerator for up to 3 days.

Notes (otherwise known as how I didn't follow the recipe):

I totally missed the fact that the Bisquick pancake mix was actually a recipe, so I bought Bisquick. I ended up using it instead of the homemade, which probably makes these not gluten-free, about 1 1/2 cups of the mix. I used ham instead of bacon. I couldn't get a well made to break my egg into, so I just cracked it and hoped for the best. I probably could have checked them after 30 minutes, but I got sidetracked and let them go the whole 35. These may be my new favorite things to make. I was kind of intimidated by the recipe, but it actually wasn't that hard and the are really good!

bottom of page