top of page

On the Tailgate Menu: Slow Cooker Spinach Artichoke Dip

Spin dip. Could two words make my stomach growl more? When it's good, it's really good. When it's bad ... wait, I don't know that I've ever had bad spin dip.

I came across this recipe on Pinterest when I was looking for my energy bite recipe and knew that it had to be added to my Super Bowl tailgate menu! The fact that it comes together in the crock pot only made it that much more delicious-sounding to me and it was really easy to make.

Chock full of healthy spinach, which has lots of iron, I undid all the benefits by adding in the cheese that the recipe calls for. Calcium, iron, not a match made in heaven. My loss, because you can't have spin dip without cheese, right?

I served this with tortilla chips and sent half of it home with my daughter so I didn't make myself sick on it. Smart, right? Or not.

Slow Cooker Spinach Artichoke Dip, courtesy of Gimme Some Oven on Pinterest

Ingredients:

  • 1 (10 oz) bag fresh baby spinach, roughly chopped

  • 1 (13.75 oz) can quartered artichoke hearts, chopped and drained

  • 1 (8 oz) brick low-fat cream cheese, cut into 1-inch cubes

  • 1 cup light sour cream or plain Greek yogurt

  • 1 cup shredded Mozzarella cheese

  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese

  • 1/3 cup finely-chopped white or red onion

  • 4 cloves garlic, minced

  • 1/2 tsp black pepper

  • 1/4 tsp salt

Directions:

  1. Combine all ingredients in a large mixing bowl and stir until evenly combined.

  2. Transfer the mixture to the bowl of your slow cooker, that has been misted on the inside beforehand with cooking spray.

  3. Cook on low for 3-4 hours or on high for 2 hours, or until the dip is completely warmed through and the cheese is melted.

  4. Give the dip a good stir and season with extra salt and pepper if needed.

  5. Serve warm with chips or bread of pita crackers.

bottom of page